Revelation 1-3


[Click on the title below to open an article]

  1. Revelation of Jesus Christ - {PDF Copy} - (The Prologue of Revelation presents the key themes of the Book and declares that the season of fulfillment has arrived – Revelation 1:1-3)
  2. What Things Must Occur - {PDF Copy} - (From the start, Revelation declares its purpose is to show God’s servants what things must SOON COME TO PASS – Revelation 1:1-3)
  3. The Season is Here! - {PDF Copy} - (In Revelation, the period known as the Last Days began following the death, resurrection, and enthronement of Jesus)
  4. Unsealing the Scroll - {PDF Copy} - (Daniel was commanded to seal the scroll, but the angel sent by Jesus commanded John NOT to do so since the season was now at hand)
  5. Call to Action - {PDF Copy} - (Through a series of seven beatitudes, Revelation summons believers to faithfulness despite hostility, tribulation, and persecution)
  6. Greetings from the Throne - {PDF Copy} - (The greetings from the Throne highlight key themes of the Book, especially the past victory and the present reign of Jesus)
  7. He Who Is - {PDF Copy} - (God is the One Who is, Who was and Who is coming, the Almighty, the One Who sits on the Throne at the center of Creation)
  8. Jesus, the Faithful Witness - (In the greetings sent to the Seven Assemblies, Jesus is called the Faithful Witness because of his self-sacrificial death – Revelation 1:5) - {PDF Copy}
  9. Firstborn of the Dead - (Jesus is the Firstborn of the Dead, a reference to his resurrection and the basis for the future resurrection of the saints – Revelation 1:5) - {PDF Copy}
  10. The Seven Spirits of God - (Greetings are sent to the Seven Assemblies of Asia from God, Jesus, and the Seven Spirits of God that are before the Throne) - {PDF Copy}
  11. Ruler of Kings - (The Faithful Witness now reigns supreme over the Kings of the Earth, and he is shepherding the nations) - {PDF Copy}
  12. Redeeming the Nations - (The nations and the Kings of the Earth are found in the City of New Jerusalem because of the redeeming work of the Slain Lamb) - {PDF Copy}
  13. Kingdom of Priests - (Disciples reign with Jesus as priests who render service in his Tabernacle and mediate his light and Word in the World) - {PDF Copy}
  14. Patmos - (John was exiled to Patmos because of his testimony – A fellow participant in the Tribulation and Perseverance in Jesus - Revelation 1:9) - {PDF Copy}
  15. Tribulation and Endurance - {PDF Copy} - (Exiled on Patmos, John is a fellow participant in the tribulation, the kingdom, and the endurance that are in Jesus – Revelation 1:9)
  16. The Testimony of Jesus - {PDF Copy} - (The men purchased from every nation by the blood of the Lamb become priestly witnesses who persevere in the Testimony of Jesus)
  17. The Lordly Day - {PDF Copy} - (On the Isle of Patmos, John found himself in the Spirit and projected to the Day of the Lord – Revelation 1:9-10)
  18. Priestly Son of Man - {PDF Copy} - (The first vision presents the image of Jesus as one like a Son of Man, a priestly figure who walks among the Assemblies of Asia – Revelation 1:9-20)

  1. Seven Churches - Overview - {PDF Copy} - (The visitation of Jesus to the churches of Asia prepares the reader for the visions that follow the seven letters)
  2. Tree of Life - Ephesus - {PDF Copy} - (The messenger at Ephesus is commended for rejecting false apostles, chastised for leaving his first love, and summoned to return to his first works)
  3. Faithful Until Death - {PDF Copy} - (The Assembly in Smyrna has faithfully persevered and is exhorted to continue to do so, even UNTIL DEATH - Revelation 2:8-11)
  4. The Nicolaitans - {PDF Copy} - (Deceivers within the seven congregations are encouraging disciples of Jesus to compromise with the idolatrous rites of pagan society)
  5. Hold Fast My Name - Pergamos - {PDF Copy} - (Pergamos receives praise for remaining faithful to his name, but correction for tolerating the teachings of Balaam – Revelation 2:12-17)
  6. The Faithful Witness - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus is the Faithful Witness who summons his disciples to emulate his example by bearing faithful witness in a hostile world)
  7. The Inhabitants of the Earth - (The Inhabitants of the Earth represent the men who are omitted from the Book of Life because they embrace the Beast from the Sea) - {PDF Copy}
  8. Thyatira - {PDF Copy} - (The call to hear what the Spirit is saying to the churches begins to intensify after the warning about the teachings of Jezebel – Revelation 2:18-29)
  9. Food Offered to Idols - (Daniel and his three companions refused to participate in the religious rituals of the Babylonian Empire – Daniel 1:14) - {PDF Copy}
  10. Sardis - {PDF Copy} - (The church in Sardis receives no commendation, only warnings, and is summoned to repent while time remains – Revelation 3:1-6)
  11. Faithful Philadelphia - {PDF Copy} - (Philadelphia receives no correction since she has remained faithful, and therefore, she will be kept from the hour of trial – Revelation 3:7-13)
  12. Kept from the Hour - {PDF Copy} - (The hour of trial will come upon the whole habitable earth, but overcoming saints will not experience this final judicial act – Revelation 3:10)
  13. Laodicea - {PDF Copy} - (The messenger in Laodicea receives no commendation, only corrections and warnings. The only hope is refinement in fire – Revelation 3:14-22)
  14. Beginning of the Creation - (Revelation looks forward to the reign of Jesus in the New Creation, a reality inaugurated by his Death and Resurrection) - {PDF Copy}
  15. People of the Last Days - (The Assembly of God is the battlefield where the final war is being waged between the Lamb and the Ancient Serpent, the Devil) - {PDF Copy}

  1. Why Do the Nations Rage? - {PDF Copy} - (The conspiracy by the earth’s kings to unseat God’s Son is applied by the New Testament to the plot to destroy Jesus – Psalm 2:1-6)
  2. The Exalted Lamb - (The sovereignty of Jesus is based on his death and resurrection, the immovable foundation of his present reign in the Book of Revelation) - {PDF Copy}
  3. The Tribulation of the Church - {PDF Copy} - (In Revelation, faithful saints undergo tribulation, but the unrepentant inhabitants of the earth  receive wrath, the Second Death)
  4. That Son of Man - {PDF Copy} - (The one like a Son of Man in Daniel is the source of Christ’s self-designation as the Son of Man and his authority)

Beach Sun - Photo by Richard Pasquarella on Unsplash
[Photo by Richard Pasquarella on Unsplash]


Silence in Heaven

Sorrow Not