Revelation 4-11


[Click on the title below to open an article]

  1. Second Division - Outline - {PDF Copy} - (An outline of the Second Literary Division of the Book of Revelation from Chapter 4 through Chapter 16)
  2. I Came to be in Spirit - (On four different occasions, John found himself in the Spirit where he was transported to a new location to receive another vision) - {PDF Copy}
  3. Absent Church? - (The Book of Revelation is a message to the Church concerned with its real-life situation as it bears witness in a hostile world – Revelation 4:1-3) - {PDF Copy}
  4. The Throne - (The image of the Throne presents the reader with a picture of God reigning over all things at the center of the Creation – Revelation 4:1-11) - {PDF Copy}
  5. The Sealed Scroll - (The One Sitting on the Throne held a scroll sealed shut by Seven Seals, and the universe was searched for one worthy to open it – Revelation 5:1-4) - {PDF Copy}
  6. Worthy is the Lamb - (The central figure in John’s visions is the slain Lamb who alone is worthy to open the sealed scroll and receive sovereignty over all thingsRevelation 5:5-14) - {PDF Copy}
  7. Kingdom of Priests - (Disciples reign with Jesus as priests who render service in his Tabernacle and mediate his light and Word in the World) - {PDF Copy}
  8. The Shepherd King - {PDF Copy} - (The Lamb’s reign commenced with his death and resurrection, and since then, he has been shepherding the nations toward New Jerusalem)
  9. The Exalted Lamb - (The sovereignty of Jesus is based on his death and resurrection, the immovable foundation of his present reign in the Book of Revelation) - {PDF Copy}

  1. Seven Seals - Overview - {PDF Copy} - (Upon his arrival before the Throne, the slain Lamb begins to break open the Seven Seals that enclose the Scroll – Revelation 6:1 - 8:5)
  2. The First Seal - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:1-2 - The Lamb now breaks open the first seal, releasing a rider carrying a bow and riding a white horse)
  3. The Second Seal - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:3-4 - The second rider is on a fiery-red horse sent to remove peace from the earth by causing men to  slay one another)
  4. The Third Seal - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:5-6 - The third seal releases the rider on the black horse, producing economic hardship)
  5. The Fourth Seal - (Revelation 6:7-8 - The fourth seal releases a rider named Death who is followed by Hades, gathering up the dead in his wake) - {PDF Copy}
  6. First Four Seals - Aftermath(The first four seal openings occurred under the watchful eyes of the Lamb and the four living creatures around the throne) - {PDF Copy}
  7. Martyrs under the Altar - (The Fifth Seal opening reveals the souls of martyrs kept underneath the altar as they plead with God for vindication and justice – Revelation 6:9-11) - {PDF Copy}
  8. Sixth Seal - Wrath - (Revelation 6:12-17 - The sixth seal ushers in the Day of the Lord, the time of wrath and judgment upon the inhabitants of the earth) - {PDF Copy}
  9. Sealing the Saints - (Revelation 7:1-3 - God’s servants are sealed before the “four winds of the earth” are unleashed by the four horsemen) - {PDF Copy}
  10. Numbering the Saints - (Revelation 7:4-8 - 144,000 males from the tribes of Israel are numbered and assembled for transit to the Promised Land) - {PDF Copy}
  11. Innumerable Saints - (Revelation 7:9-12 - John now sees an innumerable multitude from all nations standing before the Lamb and the Throne) - {PDF Copy}
  12. Standing Before the Lamb - (Revelation 7:13-17 - One of the elders interprets the vision of a vast multitude that “no man could number,” standing before the Throne) - {PDF Copy}
  13. The Redeemed of the Earth - {PDF Copy} - (In Revelation, the one people of God is composed of the men purchased from every nation by the blood of the Lamb)
  14. Silence in Heaven - (Revelation 8:1-6 - The Seventh seal opening introduces the next sevenfold series, the seven trumpets) - {PDF Copy}
  15. Martyrs and Overcomers - {PDF Copy} - (In the Book of Revelation, overcoming saints persevere in their testimony for Jesus whatever the cost, even a martyr’s death)

  1. Sounding the Seven Trumpets - (An overview of the Seven Trumpets and the several intervening events) - {PDF Copy}
  2. First Trumpet - Hail - (Revelation 8:7 - The first trumpet unleashes a plague based on the seventh plague of Egypt but with modifications) - {PDF Copy}
  3. Second Trumpet - Burning Mountain - (Revelation 8:8-9 - The second trumpet harms much of the commerce on which Babylon and the “inhabitants of the earth” depend) - {PDF Copy}
  4. Third Trumpet - Bitter Waters - (Revelation 8:10-11 - The third trumpet produces a great star that falls onto the sources of freshwater, embittering them) - {PDF Copy}
  5. Fourth Trumpet - Darkness - (Revelation 8:12 - The fourth trumpet causes a partial darkening of the sun, moon, and the stars) - {PDF Copy}
  6. Fifth Trumpet, First Woe - (The fifth trumpet unleashes the first of “three woes,” and malevolent creatures began to ascend from the Abyss) - {PDF Copy}
  7. Sixth Trumpet - Second Woe - (The sixth trumpet is related to the sixth bowl of wrath; both release creatures from beyond the Euphrates) - {PDF Copy}
  8. The Little Scroll - (John saw the scroll again, unsealed and open, signifying his call to prophesy once more to peoples and kings) - {PDF Copy}
  9. Sanctuary Measured - (Revelation 11:1–2 - The sanctuary must be “measured” before the city can be inhabited, but first, it must be “trampled underfoot) - {PDF Copy}
  10. The Forty-Two Months - (The forty-two months and 1,260 days both refer to the same prophetic period when the saints are persecuted) - {PDF Copy}
  11. The Two Witnesses - (The Two Witnesses must complete their testimony before the Beast is unleashed from the Abyss - Revelation 11:3-6) - {PDF Copy}
  12. The Beast from the Abyss - (The Beast first appears when he ascends from the Abyss to wage war on the Two Witnesses after they complete their testimony) - {PDF Copy}
  13. The Abyss - (The Abyss is the source of satanic attacks against the saints even though it remains under the authority of the Lamb – Revelation 11:7) - {PDF Copy}
  14. The Slaying of the Two Witnesses - (Persecuted by the impenitent inhabitants of the earth, the Two Witnesses lie dead on the main street of the Great City) - {PDF Copy}
  15. The Seventh Trumpet - (The seventh trumpet or second woe ushers in the consummation of the kingdom and the final judgment) - {PDF Copy}
  16. The Great Earthquake - (The final day of wrath will be characterized by unprecedented celestial and terrestrial events, including the final great earthquake) - {PDF Copy}

Sun Behind Cloud - Photo by Slawek K on Unsplash
[Photo by Slawek K on Unsplash]


Silence in Heaven

Sorrow Not