New Testament Language

Was the New Testament originally composed in Greek or Hebrew? Overwhelmingly, the evidence points to the former .  What was the original language of the documents that became the “New Testament”? For centuries, the consensus has been that it was written in Greek, yet in recent years, a growing minority has claimed it was composed in Hebrew, and then later translated into Greek. What does the evidence show, and why does it matter? - [ Photo by Luis Quintero on Unsplash ].

Chronological Sequence

Are Revelation’s visions presented in chronological sequence? And if so, how do we explain the many parallel descriptions that link them?   Are Revelation’s visions presented in a neat chronological sequence as they unfold in each chapter? If we assume this to be true, things quickly become untenable as key events are repeated in multiple visions. For example, the sixth seal culminates in the final day of wrath accompanied by celestial and terrestrial upheaval, yet the “ day of the Lord ” and the judgment of the wicked occur also when the seventh trumpet sounds - [ Photo by Alexey Savchenko on Unsplash ].

Literal vs Nonliteral language

Revelation informs the reader from the very first verse of the book that it communicates symbolically .  Must prophecy be interpreted only or primarily in the most “literal” fashion possible unless a passage indicates otherwise? Too often we assume that  literal  language is more reliable than  nonliteral language, an assumption that becomes especially problematic in the book of Revelation . - [ Photo by Paul Skorupskas on Unsplash ].

Great Earthquake

The final day of wrath will be characterized by unprecedented celestial and terrestrial events, including the final “great earthquake.”   In four separate passages,  Revelation  refers to the coming “ great earthquake ,” and each time locates it on the day of God’s final “ wrath .” Chaos in the heavens and unimaginable seismic shifts on the earth will mark the arrival of the “ Day of the Lord ,” the  Great Dénouement  when God vindicates His people and punishes His enemies - [ Photo by Jose Antonio Gallego Vázquez on Unsplash ].

Daniel's Vision and the New Testament

Phrases from Daniel’s vision of four “beasts ascending from the sea” are applied to Jesus and his saints in the New Testament .  Language and images from Daniel’s vision of “ four beasts ” occur in key passages in the New Testament, most often in contexts concerning the future return of Jesus, but also about the kingdom of God and the authority he received from God. For example, he foretold how “ all the tribes of the earth ” would see the “ Son of man coming in the clouds of heaven ” - [ Photo by César Couto on Unsplash ].

Howling Imposters

“ Evil men and howling impostors will wax worse and worse, deceiving and being deceived .” Christ’s final block of teaching given on the Mount of Olives includes several warnings about coming “ deceivers ” and “ false prophets ” who will be intent on misleading the saints, warnings reiterated and expanded in the writings of the apostles. His discourse began with stern warnings to “ beware lest anyone deceive you .” - [ Photo by Анатолий Чесноков on Unsplash ].